Past Residencies  

Juliane Stiegele
Catastrophe Institute (In collaboration with PVI Collective)
September 2005
March 2006



C.I Charter

The Catastrophe Institute:

• Is an international think-tank which aims to experiment with disaster.
• Respond to notions of catastrophe in contemporary living, ranging from those posed by nature, human progress, personal experience and policy making .
• Explore catastrophe in relation to the places we live and people we know.
• Are disaster ready at all times.
• Conduct experiments in which no animals are intentionally harmed.
• Decode the dialectics of destruction.
• Carry out global field research which is recorded & documented for public viewing.
• Act on instinct and are driven by fear.
• Are looking for someone or something to blame for the inevitable social, political and economic shit-storm that is brewing.
• Provides mass vaccinations against everything.
• Believe there is no such thing as a conspiracy theory.
• Understand that constant crisis is good for business.
• Have no formal qualifications in geology, climatology, biology or any of the ‘ology's'.
• Put themselves on the front line of all experiments & invite participation from the local community.
• Provide a space for the beauty of chaos.
• Is made up of australian, english and german members.
• Sometimes dream of something better.


  Long Distance Relationship : Regina Walter & Raquel Ormella : Claire Conroy (page1, page2) : Neville Gabie (page1, page2) : Gregory Pryor : Bennett Miller : Nigel Helyer : Juliane Stiegele : PVI Collective : Gerson Bettencourt Ferreira : Christina Abad : Lucas Ihein : Kirsten Bradley : Bruce Slatter : Hüseyin Bahri Alptekin : Noah Shilkin & ReBecca Miller : Raquel Ormella : Ian Birse & Laura Kavanaugh : Tom Nicholson : Hayden Fowler : Wilkins Hill : Anna Nazzari : Matthew Hunt : Izabela Pluta : Sean Cordeiro & Claire Healy : nat&ali : James Lynch : Andrew McQualter : Andreas Kaiser : Moon Joo : Simon Levin/ Laurie Long : Jenny Watson : Bibo : Lotte Konow Lund : Roland Boden : Gillian Dyson : Shigeaki Iwai : Louise Paramor : Trevor Richards : Miriam Stannage : Umberto Cavenago : Alex Spremberg : Markus Mußinghoff : Robert Frith : Heinrich Lüber : Kate Daw : Virginia Ward : Berndt Höppner : Salvatore Falci : Matthew Ngui